COVID-19 Resources ▸▸

Turning Innovation Into Enterprise


Teaming to Win Holds 23rd Annual Conference

SBA Small Business Person of the Year Diane Lewis, CEO of Action Facilities Management

SBA Small Business Person of the Year Diane Lewis, CEO of Action Facilities Management

Small business leaders and other guests attending the recent Teaming to Win Conference enjoyed a wide range of keynote speakers, informative panels and seminars, valuable networking, and the annual SBA awards.  The conference, in its 23rd year, was held at the WVU Erickson Alumni Center in Morgantown.

U.S. Senators Jay Rockefeller and Joe Manchin addressed guests at the SBA Awards Banquet, and Congressman David McKinley spoke at the opening night reception.

Secretary of State Natalie Tennant and WVU President Jim Clements spoke to participants during the May 29th luncheon.  Earlier in the day, business development speaker Morris Morrison kicked things off with a motivational keynote address.

SBA Regional Administrator Natalia Olson joined WV SBA District Director Judy McCauley in presenting the annual awards for small business.  For a complete list of winners, click here.

Diane Lewis, President and CEO of Action Facilities Management in Morgantown and a member of the Teaming to Win Board, was honored as the Small Businessperson of the Year.  In accepting the award, Ms. Lewis encouraged other small businesses to take advantage of the opportunities afforded by events like Teaming to Win.

“My company grew substantially because of the opportunities I encountered through Teaming to Win.  Not only was I able to connect directly with the SBA and other federal agencies to help guide the growth of my venture, but I also met with larger contractors who gave me a chance to partner with them,” Ms. Lewis said.

Conference learning tracks covered a variety of topics, including the Affordable Care Act, doing business with WVU, best practices for small businesses, and 3-D printing, among others.

Corporate sponsors included KeyLogic, Chesapeake Energy, TASC, Action Facilities Management, Allegheny Science & Technology, The Cornerstone Group, EWA Government Systems, Fluor, Morris Morrison, Professional Services of America, Stoller, TechConnectWV, URS, West Virginia Public Broadcasting, WVHTC Foundation, WVU Manufacturing Extension Partnership, WV Small Business Development Center, and WVU Office of Research & Economic Development.

Four $1,000 business scholarships were awarded to West Virginia college students, including: Kayla Michelle Lynn Hinkley, West Virginia Wesleyan College; Felicia Goldizen, West Virginia Wesleyan College; Mia Rae Gresak, Davis & Elkins College; and Kevin Driscoll, West Virginia University.

Teaming to Win is designed to serve West Virginia’s business community, to foster collaboration and to highlight the unique competencies of the many regional companies and individuals in attendance.