COVID-19 Resources ▸▸

Turning Innovation Into Enterprise


Women in Technology: A Formula for Success

October 18, 2012 - October 19, 2012

Oglebay Resort, Wheeling, WV

The first “Women in Technology” Conference was a rousing success, with more than 100 participants representing all sectors of technology, two inspirational keynote addresses, six panel breakout sessions, a visit from Secretary of State Natalie Tennant, and an engaging networking reception.  Thanks to everyone who joined TechConnect at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center on October 18-19 for this inaugural event!

NASA Astronaut Dorothy Metcalf-Lindenburger delivered a powerful keynote address at the opening luncheon on Thursday, October 18, relating to the crowd that her parents engaged her in science with trips to museums and NASA space camp. Despite a lack of female professors in the geology department at her college, she found inspiration in other role models and continued to pursue her dream of becoming an astronaut while teaching high school science for five years.

Dr. Cindy Powell, Director of R&D for the National Energy Technology Laboratory, addressed the gathering on Friday and discussed her own experiences as an example of one way to develop a technology career.  Her words were encouraging to women of all ages in the conference.

In a strong collaboration of the conference with the U.S. Small Business Administration, the Region 3 Minority Small Business Person of the Year Award was presented to Judy K. Sheppard, President and CEO of Professional Services of America, Inc., by Natalia Olson-Urtecho, SBA Regional Administrator at the opening luncheon.  In addition, Frances and Gene Brooks of Dunbar, WV were presented with a copy of SBA’s national publication featuring their photograph on the cover, recognizing their award in May as 2012 Small Business Persons of the Year.

TechConnect wishes to thank the sponsors who made this conference possible, including support from the U.S. Economic Development Administration, the State of West Virginia, the WV Department of Education and the Arts, the WV Higher Education Policy Commission Division of Science & Research, West Virginia University, the Robert C. Byrd Institute for Advanced Flexible Manufacturing at Marshall University, and Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC.

TechConnect would like to offer thanks and appreciation to those individuals who participated in the panels and breakout sessions, including:  Lynn M. Brusco, Pittsburgh Life Sciences Greenhouse; Patricia H. Lee, West Virginia University College of Law; Robin S. Levine Stoller, Steptoe & Johnson PLLC; Michele O’Connor, West Virginia Jobs Investment Trust; Kristina J. Oliver, West Virginia Small Business Development Center; Dr. Jeanne Finstein, Polyhedron Learning Media, Inc.;

Dr. Marcia Harrison-Pitaniello, Marshall University; Mindy Walls, Chesapeake Energy Corporation; Mary Hunt, Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation; Lynn Dombrowski, LAD Studio; Dr. Jan Fox, Marshall University; Fonda Holehouse, West Virginia University; Rebecca Spyke Keiser, NASA; Casey Cid, Media Thirty Seven; Crystal Dempsey, From the Hip Communications LLC; Ginny Painter, Marshall University Research Corporation; Dr. Jocelyn Sheppard, Red House Consulting; Aila Accad, LifeQuest International, LLC;

Tarabeth Brumfield, Marshall University Early Education STEM Center; Gayle C. Manchin, West Virginia Board of Education; Nancy Sturm, The Sextant Group, Inc.; Dr. Jan R. Taylor, Division of Science and Research, WV Higher Education Policy Commission; Roberta Newlon, Elanic Edge Consulting; and Jennifer Kmiec, Delaware Sustainable Chemistry Alliance.