COVID-19 Resources ▸▸

Turning Innovation Into Enterprise


TechConnectWV “Spirit of Innovation Awards”

October 22, 2013 - October 22, 2013

Waterfront Place Hotel, Morgantown, WV

TechConnect hosted the inaugural Spirit of Innovation Awards Banquet  on October 22 at the Waterfront Place Hotel in Morgantown.

The Spirit of Innovation Awards are an opportunity to celebrate successes in innovation in West Virginia, and to recognize individuals and organizations who are leaders in supporting innovation and innovation-based business development.  With many exciting developments underway in our state’s innovation and technology economy, the goal of this award program is to showcase success stories and inspire others who have an entrepreneurial spirit.  We wish to thank those who took the time to nominate individuals and firms for these awards.  Your participation is vital to our success, and we appreciate your efforts.

2013 Award Winners

WINNER Darrah and Peduto2013 StartUp Innovation of the Year Award
Dr. Marjorie Darrah, eTouchSciences





BPC Rachael and Caleb Posing EZReader2013 Student Innovators of the Year
Racheal Fetty and Caleb Greathouse, Glenville State College





Stephanie Skolik2013 Outstanding Woman in Technology
Dr. Stephanie Skolik of Huntington





WINNER Willis-Miller and Liu2013 Innovator ofthe Year Award
Dr. Xingbo Liu





WINNER OConnor and Vorbach2013 Investor Recognition Award
Michele O’Connor, West Virginia Jobs Investment Trust




Platinum Level Sponsorship of the Innovator of the Year Award: 
 Jackson Kelly

Platinum Level Sponsorship of the Investor Recognition Award: Steptoe & Johnson

Platinum Level Sponsorship of the Student Innovator of the Year Award: West Virginia University

Platinum Level Sponsor: West Virginia Department of Commerce

Platinum Level Sponsorship of the Outstanding Woman in Technology Award: Marshall University

Platinum Level Sponsorship of the StartUp Innovation of the Year: West Virginia High Technology Consortium Foundation

Gold Level Sponsors: Arch Coal


KELLY Marshall Block M



2013 Nominees

Congratulations to the 2013 Nominees!  To view nominees in each category, click on links below


View Spirit of Innovation Awards Guidelines and Application here